Search Results

You are looking at 1 - 10 of 10,740 items for :

  • "social justice" x
Clear All
Author:

space is for all students; and on this point, ‘inclusive education is needed as a means for social justice’ ( Artiles et al, 2006 , p 261). Despite this, it should be noted that ‘inclusive education is by no means a clearly defined or universally understood concept’ ( Krischler et al, 2019 , p 633). There are a number of pressures on schools in relation to their approaches towards inclusion and exclusion: The processes of inclusion and exclusion are inextricably linked. Attempts to understand inclusion cannot succeed without an analysis of pressures towards

Restricted access
Author:

Introduction Justice is, by definition, about fairness. Social justice is about the social context of fairness and the fairness of the social context. That is, it is not just about individual issues in specific contexts, but, rather, how those individual issues reflect wider patterns of injustice, discrimination and oppression. ( Thompson, 2017 , 3) Thinking about social justice leads inevitably to thinking about social problems and wide patterns of injustice, as mentioned in the quotation that opens this chapter, for example poverty, homelessness and

Restricted access
Author:

55 SEVEN Social justice Raymond Plant Context It might be useful to situate this Lecture initially in Beveridge’s own context. The Prime Minister has been anxious to unite again the tradition of ‘Social’ or ‘New’ Liberalism and Social Democracy. Beveridge was a New Liberal1 – so what did this imply? Well one thing that it implied was a concern for social justice and a rejection of endorsement of untrammelled market forces characteristic of classical liberalism. New Liberal politics in the late Victorian and early Edwardian era rejected the view of the free

Restricted access

Liberty, equality and social justice are among the most prominent key concepts underpinning social policy and political theory. Although each may sound as if its meaning is obvious, liberty, equality and social justice are all normative concepts: embedded in them is an ideal, a value, and all three are used differently depending on the viewpoint of the person who is using them. Perhaps more than any of the other concepts discussed in this volume, the positions taken on these act as a differentiator between some of the dominant perspectives covered in Chapter 1

Restricted access

139 SEVEN Social justice and the family Harry Brighouse and Adam Swift introduction The family is a problem for any theory of social justice. On the one hand, children born into different families face very unequal prospects. However those prospects are conceived – as chances of social mobility, of lifetime well-being or income, or simply in terms of quality of childhood experiences – the fact that children are raised in families generates inequalities between them that it is hard to defend as fair or just. On the other hand, any suggestion that we should

Restricted access

Introduction Whom do we conduct research with and for? What kinds of questions do we ask of the social world, and how do we question how knowledge is produced? In what ways do our approaches to research and our manner of carrying out research studies matter? If we, as social science students, academics and practitioners, commit ourselves to social change agendas, then our research endeavour is at the heart of advancing such transformative change. Rights and Social Justice in Research is a text which sets out what a rights-based approach to research

Restricted access

PART I Contextualising and theorising research for social justice

Restricted access

PART II Designing and operationalising methodologies for social justice

Restricted access

187 Journal of Poverty and Social Justice • vol 24 • no 2 • 187–207 • © Policy Press 2015 • #JPSJ Print ISSN 1759 8273 • Online ISSN 1759 8281 • http://dx.doi.org/10.1332/175982715X14418059634901 This article is distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license (http:// creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) which permits adaptation, alteration, reproduction and distribution without further permission provided the original work is attributed. The derivative works do not need to be licensed on the same terms. article Fare’s fair

Open access
Author:

Introduction While many of the contributions in this book focus on participatory and person-centred approaches to social justice research, this chapter instead points to the potential role for critical discourse analysis using documents as a research focus. In recognition of the vital link between engaging in policy work and achieving progressive social change, this chapter focuses on critical policy analysis as a research method for social justice. The chapter begins with some context, linking policy work and social justice and situating policy work and

Restricted access